Have a Nut Allergy and miss See’s Candies: Recipe for Homemade Milk Bordeaux

Bordeaux Chocolates Small

Growing up on the west coast it’s hard not to have heard of or visited See’s candies.  The chocolates they make are simply amazing.  When my son was diagnosed with nut allergies, See’s quickly became a memory, as the employees will tell you the candies (even those without nuts) are not safe.  They are subject to being cross contaminated by nut dust.  It broke my heart my son would never know the taste of my all time favorite See’s offering:  Milk Chocolate Bordeaux.

Just recently I discovered a recipe for these yummy candies on a site called Taste of Home.  I made the chocolates and have to say, they were pretty darn close.  I’m so excited to have my favorite candies back and to get to offer them to my son knowing they are safe.

I’ve reprinted the recipe below or you can click on this link to go to the original site http://community.tasteofhome.com/community_forums/f/30/p/156797/158148.aspx#158148

MILK BORDEAUX CANDY
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup butter
1/4 cup whipping cream
1/2 tsp instant coffee
pinch salt
2 cups sifted powdered sugar
12 oz dark or milk chocolate
Melt butter and brown sugar together in heavy pan.

Bring to boil and boil for two minutes.

Stir in cream, coffee, salt and bring to boil again.

Stir constantly. Boil for 30 seconds and remove from heat.

Let cool for 10 minutes.

Add sifted powdered sugar to mixture. Stir in well.

Chill until mixture holds shape of a small ball. Roll into 2-inch balls.

Melt chocolate according to pkg instructions.

Dip candy balls into melted chocolate. Sprinkle with cake sprinkles, if desired.

Makes approx. 2 lbs. Or 24 pieces

This entry was posted in Candy, Chocolate, Nut Free Products and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Have a Nut Allergy and miss See’s Candies: Recipe for Homemade Milk Bordeaux

  1. My brother recommended I might like this web site. He was once totally right.
    This post actually made my day. You can not imagine just how much time I had spent for this info!
    Thank you!

  2. Howdy! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new initiative
    in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us valuable information to work on. You have done a wonderful job!

  3. Appreciating the persistence you put into your website and in depth information you
    present. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same
    old rehashed material. Fantastic read! I’ve bookmarked your site and
    I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Leave a Reply

